A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of Mercerites -- dead in its wake. So when another tornado touches down in the exact same spot on the anniversary of this small-town tragedy, the town is shaken. For Brenna Ortiz, Joshua Calloway, and Callie Keller, the apprehension is more than just a feeling. Though they seem to share nothing more than a struggle to belong, the teens' paths continue to intersect, bringing them together when they least expect it, and perhaps, when they need it most. Both the living and the dead have secrets and unresolved problems, but they may be able to find peace and move forward--if only they work together.

A beautifully told, haunting yet hopeful novel about pushing past the pain, facing the world, and finding yourself.

Praise for We Speak in Storms :

"A hauntingly atmospheric coming-of-age story . . . with fully realized characters, an empowering message, and a highly satisfying conclusion." --SLJ

"A lingering, quietly paced story about the echoes of trauma and the persistence of hope." --Booklist

"This suspenseful novel . . . immediately grabs the reader's attention . . . [Readers] will be eager to find out what happens next." --SLC
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published on September 3, 2019 by Philomel Books
ISBN-10: 0525518002
ISBN-13: 9780525518006
2 Book Reviews
  • ellsworth2424
    ellsworth2424almost 3 years
    This was a really great book about an event that happened in a small town and the consequences it had for generations to follow. I really enjoyed these characters and the story overall. I would recommend it.
    • Ellealmost 3 years
      My aunt won this book in a contest. She gave it to me to read. I'm almost finished, and I really like the book. I would recommend it. It's a story about a few students, each with his/her own situation, and how the history of the town they live in brings them together.