Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grades 3 - 5n/a4.774757
A New York Times Bestseller


What if the person you need the most is someone you’ve never met?


Funny and romantic, this tug-at-your-heartstrings contemporary YA debut is perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell, Jennifer Niven, and E. Lockhart.

Everything about Jessie is wrong. At least, that’s what it feels like during her first week as a junior at her new ultra-intimidating prep school in Los Angeles. It’s been barely two years since her mother’s death, and because her father eloped with a woman he met online, Jessie has been forced to move across the country to live with her stepmonster and her pretentious teenage son.

Just when she’s thinking about hightailing it back to Chicago, she gets an email from a person calling themselves Somebody/Nobody (SN for short), offering to help her navigate the wilds of Wood Valley High School. Is it an elaborate hoax? Or can she rely on SN for some much-needed help?

In a leap of faith—or an act of complete desperation—Jessie begins to rely on SN, and SN quickly becomes her lifeline and closest ally. Jessie can’t help wanting to meet SN in person. But are some mysteries better left unsolved?

“Three Things about this novel: (1) I loved it. (2) No, really, I LOVED it. (3) I wish I could tell every teen to read it. Buxbaum’s book sounds, reads, breathes, worries, and soars like real adolescents do.” —Jodi Picoult, New York Times bestselling author of Leaving Time and Off the Page
Hardcover, 336 pages
Published on April 5, 2016 by Delacorte Press
ISBN-10: 0553535641
ISBN-13: 9780553535648
5 Book Reviews
  • l4dyr34d
    l4dyr34d10 months55 stars
    *High Pitched Squeal*! OMG, Ethan. Ethan Marks. I just can't with this comedy/drama. Some of the characters are relatable while others a little too close for ware, but I love the spunk and heartfelt emotions that the author put throughout this book. Definately one for the rainy days.
    • jelly_pearl1245
      jelly_pearl1245over 1 year55 stars
      This book is so good! I love the characters and the plot. Definitely recommend it If you're a teen and looking for a book to read, chose this one!
      • april_hough2022
        april_hough2022almost 5 years55 stars
        This book is amazing and it's a good book to read if you wanna relax.
        • april_hough2022
          april_hough2022almost 5 years55 stars
          I loved it and reread over again!!!!
          • bluehorse3
            bluehorse3over 6 years
            This book sounds amazing! I really want to read this.