"Inspirational, commonsensical, and a whole lot of fun." --James Patterson

Everyone deserves to shine in this sparkling new book from the New York Times bestselling author of Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library , Chris Grabenstein, and coauthor J.J. Grabenstein--just right for fans of Word of Mouse and The Fourteenth Goldfish.


"Who do you want to be?" asks Mr. Van Deusen. "And not when you grow up. Right here, right now."

Shine on! might be the catchphrase of twelve-year-old Piper's hero--astronaut, astronomer, and television host Nellie Dumont Frisse--but Piper knows the truth: some people are born to shine, and she's just not one of them. That fact has never been clearer than now, since her dad's new job has landed them both at Chumley Prep, a posh private school where everyone seems to be the best at something and where Piper definitely doesn't fit in.

Bursting with humor, heart, science, possibilities, and big questions, Shine! is a story about finding your place in the universe--a story about figuring out who you are and who you want to be.

Hardcover, 224 pages
Published on November 5, 2019 by Random House Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 1524717665
ISBN-13: 9781524717667
5 Book Reviews
  • dexmaster
    dexmaster7 months44 stars
    Great book. I love how the main character didn't back down because of some bully. She is very strong. Mentally strong. Please read this! You are the best J.J and Chris Grabenstein
    • blossomreader
      blossomreaderalmost 2 years55 stars
      Shine is a new book by Chris and J.J Grabenstein, and it's sure to get you thinking about kindness. When Piper's dad gets a new job at a fancy prep school, Piper gets a full scholarship to go there. But when she does get their, she doesn't seem to fit in with everyone else. Everyone seems to have a special talent, and Piper just doesn't. But her turn to shine comes up in a contest that the organizers of the school are hosting. Show off your talents! Do well in school! Who ever achieves the most in the school gets an award, and Piper's friends are competing. Well, everyone's competing, it's just that Piper doesn't want to because she knows she's not the best at things. Throughout the book Piper goes on an adventure to help her friends and save her pride. Will she find out the inner talent her dad knows she has? I loved this book, and if you like heartwarming stories, or books about kindness, this is your type of read. I give this book five stars, and once you read it, you'll know why!
      • starlight_gem
        starlight_gemabout 2 years
        Oh! This author is amazing! I can't wait to read this book!
        • sunshinerainbow
          sunshinerainbowabout 2 years44 stars
          “Some people are born to shine.” Seventh-grader Piper Milly doesn’t think she’s very talented or special. She doesn’t play the cello like her mother, or do athletic feats. In fact, Piper’s favorite hobby is astronomy, and gazing up at the constellations...which probably won’t get her many friends at her new private school, Chumley Prep. This school is home to students who are great at everything, and she may not be able to fit in. But when she meets Siraj, Kwame, Emily, and Tim, Piper realizes she isn’t as alone as she thought—and this new student might have a chance of making friends after all. Then, her school opens up competition for an award called Excelsior...for the best, smartest, most talented people at Chumley Prep. She doesn’t think she stands a chance of winning. But can she use her true talent—and somehow get this award? Read this book to find out!
          • me_the_book_god
            me_the_book_godalmost 3 years
            Sounds very interesting, loved his other novels, can't wait to read it.