First Katherine Applegate thrilled readers with the action-packed Animorphs series. Then she stole our hearts with the award-winning The One and Only Ivan. Now she takes us on an unforgettable journey in this first book of an epic middle grade series!

Byx is the youngest member of her dairne pack. Believed to possess remarkable abilities, her mythical doglike species has been hunted to near extinction in the war-torn kingdom of Nedarra.

After her pack is hunted down and killed, Byx fears she may be the last of her species. The Endling. So Byx sets out to find safe haven, and to see if the legends of other hidden dairnes are true.

Along the way, she meets new allies—both animals and humans alike—who each have their own motivations for joining her quest. And although they begin as strangers, they become their own kind of family—one that will ultimately uncover a secret that may threaten every creature in their world.

Building upon the success of her critically acclaimed novels such as The One and Only Ivan, Crenshaw, and Wishtree, while also returning to her action-packed fantasy roots of Animorphs, the Endling series is Katherine Applegate at her finest. With its enthralling characters, unique setting, and gripping adventure, this series is the perfect next read for fans of Rick Riordan, Brian Jacques, and Tui T. Sutherland.

Hardcover, 400 pages
Published on May 1, 2018 by HarperCollins
ISBN-10: 0062335529
ISBN-13: 9780062335524
10 Book Reviews
  • booclimatechang
    booclimatechang11 months55 stars
    It had a lot of action and I love animals, fiction, and fantasy. Plus the little bit of love in it is funny. I HIGHLY recommend this book and the other two books in the trilogy.
    • warriorcatskid
      warriorcatskidover 1 year44 stars
      Its a good book!
      • tabitha12
        tabitha12over 1 year33 stars
        I think it is an okay book so far, I have only read about a quarter of it. If you like to read books that are from an animals point of view, you might like this book.
        • jb9
          jb9over 1 year
          I am reading this. My teacher loaned it to me and recommended it to me so if she ( my teacher) read it you should too because she can tell if a book is good!!
          • willowschultz
            willowschultzalmost 2 years44 stars
            I read this and it's sequel. In March 2021 a third book is due to come out which will make it a trilogy!
            • artkid
              artkidalmost 2 years44 stars
              Byx has always struggled to survive. In a country oppressed by people who want to conquer the whole world, staying alive is key...and the Murdano, their twisted ruler, might come for Byx’s species—the dairnes—next. Now, the number of dairnes left in the world is very low—just a group of four families, barely enough to make a pack. But no one thought these rare animals would go completely extinct...until they did. Now, Byx is cast out into the world as an endling; the last dairne ever. She has feared this, ever since she overheard her parents talking about it one day. Survival becomes even harder, as she fights to stay alive. But when she meets Tobble, a creature called a wobbyk; Khara, a human girl who likes to disguise herself as a man; Gambler, a big cat with many principles; and Renzo, a thief, everything changes. Soon, Byx is not only hoping with all her heart that the dairnes will come back someday, but following her last hope. A legend that might save her life...and maybe even find other dairnes who survived the cruelty of the Murdano! As love, sacrifice, and betrayal follow their quest, the five companions must make a huge decision; whether to continue following a legend that may not be true—or do something that will save the whole country from the Murdano’s evil reign. Can they do it? Read this book to find out!
              • moondeathstar
                moondeathstarover 2 years55 stars
                its a heart touching story everybody should read it. :)
                • SimbaCatalmost 3 years
                  This is the best book I finessed it in 2 weeks
                  • YEET@010over 3 years
                    this book is so adventures
                    • BUnny@010over 3 years
                      I love this book