The Tapper Twins Go to War (With Each Other)

Book 1 of 4 in the The Tapper Twins Series
Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 4 - 8Grades 4 - 7n/a5.426611
This bestselling first book in the Tapper Twins series is a hilariously authentic showcase of what it's like to be in middle school in our digitally-saturated world, told as a colorful "oral history" with photos, screenshots, text messages, chat logs, and online gaming digital art.

Twelve-year-old twins, Claudia and Reese, who couldn't be more different...except in their determination to come out on top in a vicious prank war. But when the competition escalates into an all-out battle that's fought from the cafeteria of their New York City private school all the way to the fictional universe of an online video game, the twins have to decide if their efforts to destroy each other are worth the price. In a starred review, Publishers Weekly declared "This uproarious series opener... is packed with both laugh-out-loud moments and heart."

Hardcover, 240 pages
Published on April 7, 2015 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
ISBN-10: 0316297798
ISBN-13: 9780316297790
71 Book Reviews
  • aub112705
    aub112705over 6 years44 stars
    super funny
    • flamingnuk3
      flamingnuk3over 6 years55 stars
      I have a twin sister and I am a twin brother
      • tayyyyyyover 6 years
        the prank Claudia plays on Reese is hilariousđŸ˜‚
        • lizziek
          lizziekover 6 years55 stars
          Love this book so much. I couldn't stop laughing. The prank Claudia plays on Reese is sooooo funny
          • coolgirlintown
            coolgirlintownover 6 years
            I love Claudia has plan to get back @ Reese, and how he doesn't even know that there is a dead fish in his backpack! The Tapper twins tear up New York is a good one too. James is my favorite character because of the way he acts. Xander is soooooo funny!
          • Book23almost 7 years
            Ha. This is so funny
            • frankybaby
              frankybabyalmost 7 yearsFeatured
              What's wrong with a little pranking among siblings? In this case - everything. It all started with a toaster cake and a huge misunderstanding - soon, both Claudia and Reese wanted serious revenge on each other. What started as a petty prank war soon escalated with something bigger - with Claudia desperate to publicly humiliate Reese. All her attempts fail because, unlike any human being, Reese doesn't care about being humiliated. On the other hand, Reese is desperate for a win - so he enlists his "evil" friend Xander to help. He overhears Claudia singing a horrible, falsetto song about Jens, who Claudia has a crush on, and Reese and Xander upload it to ClickChat (the social media in this book.) Soon, Claudia becomes cyber-bullied, horrified, humiliated, embarrassed, and really, just wants to kill Reese and Xander. She already knows humiliation doesn't work.. so what does? She soon works her way to the answer - MetaWorld (pretty much the same as Minecraft), which Reese and Xander play all hours of the day (when they're not playing soccer). She concocts a brilliant plan to destroy Xander and Reese's huge empire on MetaWorld (with the help of the admin of MetaWorld, Akash) and ultimately kills Reese and Xander in every deathmatch, kills all their soldiers, destroys their huge castles, and basically demolishes their empires. But Claudia doesn't feel good or satisfied when she's doing all this - she feels pretty horrible.. especially when Reese cries and wails and screams at how "InvisibleDeath" (her avatar on MetaWorld, but Reese doesn't know Claudia is InvisibleDeath. He doesn't even know she plays MetaWorld) is a horrible, gruesome person. Revenge was what she wanted in the first place, right? And she got it.. right? So is Claudia doing the right thing - is revenge really the answer to ending this war? Read this AMAZING book to find out! Claudia, as the "author" of this book, has compiled an astonishing amount of interviews from allies, enemies, and combatants alike. The result is an "oral" history told from many, many points of view complete with text messages, photographs, gaming chat logs, and emails. Like any historian, Claudia decides to use resources for historical comparisons (in this case that resource is Wikipedia). She compares the events of the war with events that happened in actual wars (ex. World War II) Also, she compares the people involved with people from actual wars (Xander is Hitler!) There are a lot of hilarious things but you will see realistic elements, like how Claudia interacts with her brother and schoolmates, how there is cyberbullying and how there are social media (like MetaWorld for Minecraft and ClickChat which is MySpace, Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, etc.) Geoff Rodkey (the "real" author) uses a light, funny tone that navigates the ups and downs of siblings and middle school life. This book will probably attract readers who liked "Charlie Joe Jackson", "Origami Yoda", and "Jake & Lily." I heard this will be a series - I'm actually extremely excited and glad to hear this will not end the first book.. The Tapper Twins have material that could keep an author busy for a while and this book has a lot of potential! So I can't wait for the Tapper Twins Tear Up New York (the next book!) I rate this five stars, hands down, and I hope many readers will enjoy this book as much as I did!
              • floxy2006
                floxy2006almost 6 years
                I love this book and I am glad you love it too! (You should really read The Tapper Twins Run For President).
                • 11037
                  11037almost 7 years
                  Great review! Love this book. I went to the LA olympiad after getting this book, and I read it until I was awarded first place! It's my good luck book.
                • surai2pretty
                  surai2prettyalmost 7 years
                  I am getting this book tomorrow from Barnes & Noble's after school
                  • sweendog22
                    sweendog22almost 7 years
                    it is amasing i read it so much my teacers allways told me to put it away
                    • corbin15
                      corbin15almost 7 years55 stars
                      hilarious