Interest LevelReading LevelReading A-ZATOSWord Count
Grades 9 - 12Grade 6n/a5.288025

Welcome to the Hazel Wooda fiercely stunning contemporary fantasy perfect for fans of The Magicians

“Thoroughly, creepily captivating.” ―Kristin Cashore, author of Graceling
The Hazel Wood will be your next literary obsession.” ―Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval
“Absolutely breathtaking.―Seanan McGuire, author of Every Heart a Doorway
“Terrifying, magical, and surprisingly funny.” ―Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places

Seventeen-year-old Alice and her mother have spent most of Alice’s life on the road, always a step ahead of the uncanny bad luck biting at their heels. But when Alice’s grandmother, the reclusive author of a cult-classic book of pitch-dark fairy tales, dies alone on her estate, the Hazel Wood, Alice learns how bad her luck can really get: Her mother is stolen away―by a figure who claims to come from the Hinterland, the cruel supernatural world where her grandmother's stories are set. Alice's only lead is the message her mother left behind: “Stay away from the Hazel Wood.”

Alice has long steered clear of her grandmother’s cultish fans. But now she has no choice but to ally with classmate Ellery Finch, a Hinterland superfan who may have his own reasons for wanting to help her. To retrieve her mother, Alice must venture first to the Hazel Wood, then into the world where her grandmother's tales began―and where she might find out how her own story went so wrong.

Hardcover, 368 pages
Published on January 30, 2018 by Flatiron Books
ISBN-10: 1250147905
ISBN-13: 9781250147905
3 Book Reviews
  • mercury_dust
    mercury_dust4 months55 stars
    This is honestly a really surreal, beautifully creepy book, and it's now one of my favorites. It has a really amazing, (somewhat dark) plot and storyline. I read it when I was 11, and didn't really appreciate how well thought out the whole thing was. It's definitely for older readers, because it does contain cursing and material for more mature readers. I re-read it recently and picked up on a lot more details that I hadn't seen before, which made the book so much more captivating. I absolutely loved this book.
    • daisydoo
      daisydooabout 2 years55 stars
      I loved this book. It was a little creepy. Not for anyone who gets scared easily. But overall it was a very good book.
      • Ari Ryanabout 3 years
        This was over all a very interesting read. It broke the mold in not giving everyone (I will not say who) a happy ending. This book did contain a non-graphic homosexual relationship, some cursing, a highly dysfunctional family, and very dark themes. Because of this, I would not recommend The Hazel Wood to anyone under 13. The book could have done without homosexuality, but it would not have been the same without the other "Adult aspects".