Soccer Trophy Mystery (Fred Bowen Sports Story Series, 24)

Fred Bowen is back with more soccer action--and a mystery--in his newest Sports Story, perfect for fans of Mike Lupica and Tim Green.

While soccer-playing twins Aiden and Ava lead their teams to a championship season, they try to solve the mystery of their town’s missing soccer trophy.

Thirteen-year-old twins Aiden and Ava and their good friend Daniel, all avid soccer players, have just learned their county league soccer trophy mysteriously disappeared forty years ago from the town library. It was never recovered. So between games and practices for the town’s soccer championships, the three friends try to solve the case.

But will these amateur detectives be able to unravel the mystery and find someone who had both motive and opportunity to commit the crime? Will their teams make it all the way to the championships?

Award-winning author and Washington Post KidsPost sports columnist Fred Bowen returns with another installment in his Sports Story Series, this time tackling important topics like equal recognition for women in sports. At the end of the book, Bowen includes "The Real Story" behind the disappearance of the original World Cup trophy.

Hardcover, 144 pages
Published on September 1, 2021 by Peachtree Publishing Company
ISBN-10: 1682630781
ISBN-13: 9781682630785
11 Book Reviews
  • belle252
    belle25211 months44 stars
    40 years ago, a soccer trophy mysteriously disappeared from existence, a crime that baffled even the top detectives and the police force of Winchester. Now, three amateur detectives have arisen, and they might be closer to solving the mystery than anyone else. Aiden, Daniel, and Ava love soccer. It’s basically their life, so when they figure out that a soccer trophy vanished about 40 years ago, they latch onto the mystery, but there are many obstacles they have to face. For one, the case occurred 40 years ago, which means that there are not that many witnesses they can ask. The second is that there’s practically no reason why anyone would have the motive to steal a kid’s soccer trophy. Along with the trophy case they also have to maintain their own lives, they have school books to read and their respective soccer teams to play for. But sometimes, it's not easy to balance justice with impulse. Will the town get their kid’s soccer trophy back, or will this case stay as an old town mystery? Overall, I found “Soccer Trophy Mystery” a compelling book with a great plot and an interesting turn of events.