A thought-provoking and haunting novel about a creature that escapes from an artist's canvas, whose talent is sniffing out monsters in a world that claims they don't exist anymore. Perfect for fans of Akata Witch and Shadowshaper .

There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught. Jam and her best friend, Redemption, have grown up with this lesson all their life. But when Jam meets Pet, a creature made of horns and colors and claws, who emerges from one of her mother's paintings and a drop of Jam's blood, she must reconsider what she's been told. Pet has come to hunt a monster--and the shadow of something grim lurks in Redemption's house. Jam must fight not only to protect her best friend, but also uncover the truth, and the answer to the question How do you save the world from monsters if no one will admit they exist?

In their riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices you can make when the society around you is in denial.
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published on September 10, 2019 by Make Me a World
ISBN-10: 0525647074
ISBN-13: 9780525647072
1 Book Review
  • scythe123
    scythe123about 2 months55 stars
    Great book for anyone 11 or older! This is a novel about a girl named Jam who lives in a supposed utopia where all the monsters of a city called Lucille have been defeated by angels, who now keep the city safe. However, when a drop of Jam's blood falls on her mother's painting, it releases a creature that calls itself Pet. And Pet comes with a frightening message: there's a monster in Lucille. And she finds something even scarier- the monster is in her best friend's house.